The Darewell Chums Series
by Allen Chapman

Facebook Fan Forum      Home
The five volume outdoor adventure Darewell Chums series was created by the Stratemeyer Syndicate and initially published by Cupples & Leon from 1908 to 1911. In 1917, Cupples & Leon rejiggered the titles, mostly by switching subtitles for the titles and issued them as the first 5 volumes of their "Boys Pocket Library" series. Cupples & Leon then sold the plates to the series to Goldsmith, who released the series in cheap editions with new DJs but minus the illustrations in 1917.

1 - The Heroes of the School; or, The Darewell Chums Through Thick and Thin
2 - Ned Wilding's Disappearance; or, The Darewell Chums in the City
3 - Frank Roscoe's Secret; or, The Darewell Chums in the Woods
4 - Fenn Masterson's Discovery; or, The Darewell Chums on a Cruise
5 - Bart Keene's Hunting Days; or, The Darewell Chums in a Winter Camp

All the stories are in the public domain and some are available for free on Project Gutenberg and in low priced (often free for Kindle) reprint editions available from

Allen Chapman was a popular Syndicate house name, used on The Darewell Chums, Fred Fenton, Railroad Series, Radio Boys, Tom Fairfield, and other publications.

Publishers: 1908-1911 Cupples & Leon; 1917 Goldsmith

Illustrators: Clare Angell (1); Charles Nuttall (2-4); H. Richard Boehm (5)

Publishing Information
1) Cupples & Leon (1-5)
Brown cloth binding, illustrated cover in black and white. Same for all editions
Illustrations: Frontispiece and 3 internals on coated paper.
Dust Jacket: Early DJs where on terra cotta colored paper, later switched to light yellow coated paper, same picture as book cover. Same for all books.
2) Goldsmith (1-5)
Various colored cloth binding, plain.
Illustrations: None.
Dust Jacket: Full color on white coated paper, different for each book.

01: The Darewell Chums - 1908
or, The Heroes of the School
"A bright, lively story for boys, telling of the doings of four chum, at school and elsewhere. There is a strong holding plot, and several characters who are highly amusing. Any youth getting this book will consider it a prize and tell all his friends about it."

02: The Darewell Chums in the City - 1908
or, The Disappearance of Ned Wilding
"One of the chums has disappeared in an extraordinary manner, and the others institute a hunt for him. The youths befriend a city waif, who in turn makes a revelation which clears up the mystery."

03: The Darewell Chums in the Woods - 1908
or, Frank Roscoe's Secret
"The boys had planned for a grand outing when something happened of which none of them had dreamed.The thought one of their number had done a great wrong--at least it looked so. But they could not really believe the accusations made, so they set to work to help Frank all they could. All went camping some miles from home, and when not hunting and fishing spent their time in learning the truth of what had occurred."

04: Darewell Chums on a Cruise - 1909
or, Fenn Masterson's Odd Discovery
"A tale of the Great Lakes. The boys run across some Canadian smugglers and stumble on the secret of a valuable mine."

05: The Darewell Chums in a Winter Camp - 1911
or, Bart Keene's Best Shot
"Here is a lively tale of ice and snow, of jolly good times in a winter camp, hunting and trapping, and taking it easy around a roaring campfire."